Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Creative Writing Open Doors Event, May 28th

The Creative Writing MA at Edinburgh Napier University has been called 'a radical departure' by The Times newspaper, and 'a life changing experience' by recent students. On Tuesday May 28th 2013 we are having our second annual Open Doors event so you can discover how we could help make writing your career.

This free event features taster sessions that give you a flavour of our unique approach to becoming a better writer. You'll have the chance to quiz current students about their experiences on the course, tour the creative writing suite, and ask the staff anything you want to know about this acclaimed programme.

Open Doors 2013 also offers you the exclusive opportunity for a one-to-one consultation with our reader-in-residence Stuart Kelly - one of this year's judges for the Man Booker Prize - and finishes with a special performance by writer-in-residence Ken MacLeod. Here's the schedule for Open Doors 2013:

  • 5.30 Arrive for tea and coffee
  • 6.00 Introduction to MA Creative Writing at Edinburgh Napier
  • 6.20 Taster session: writing for graphic fiction with David Bishop
  • 7.00 Taster session: experimental writing with Sam Kelly
  • 7.45 Q & A with staff and current students
  • 8.15 Drinks
  • 8.30 Reading by Ken MacLeod, writer-in-residence
  • 9.00 Close

Book your ticket for Open Doors 2013 here. Places are limited, so book early to avoid disappointment! 

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Ken MacLeod's Intrusion is a finalist for the prestigious Arthur C Clarke Award

Congratulations to Ken MacLeod - writer in residence on the Edinburgh Napier Creative Writing MA - whose novel Intrusion is a finalist for the Arthur C Clarke Award. The award is given to the best science fiction novel published in Britain each year, although the author need not be British.
Intrusion is one of six finalists alongside Nod by Adrian Barnes, Dark Eden by Chris Beckett, Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway, The Dog Stars by Peter Heller, and 2312 by Kim Stanley-Robinson. More than 80 eligible novels were submitted for consideration by the judges.

The 2013 winner will be announced at the 11th SCI-FI LONDON festival in May. Previous winners have included The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood, The City & the City by China MiƩville and Zoo City by Lauren Beukes.

Ken has previously been nominated five times for the Arthur C Clarke Award but has never won. Perhaps the sixth time's the charm? Fingers crossed!